Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias
Why use them?
Dictionaries and encyclopaedias are great to use to start your research
You can:
Define your topic using subject dictionaries
Find background information in encyclopaedias
Identify other keywords and alternative terms for database searching
Recommended online sources
- Companion to Tasmanian History Online
The Companion to Tasmanian History is a comprehensive volume providing information about every important aspect of Tasmania’s history, covering all periods and all places. - Atlas of World History
- Oxford Dictionary of national biography (UK)
- Australian Dictionary of Biography
- Britannica Online - Academic edition
Full Encyclopedia Britannica - good background on almost any topic. Links to selected academic journal articles full-text from each topic. Also has some primary sources. - Credoreference
Search a huge range of dictionaries and encyclopedias, full-text, including many history sources.
Recommended sources on your library shelves
Look for these in our libraries. Click on the link to find the location. Ask a librarian if you don't know how to find them
- A Dictionary of Historical Terms
- A Dictionary of Contemporary World History : from 1900 to the present day
- Encyclopedia of World Biography
- Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
- Middle Ages: a concise encyclopaedia
- The History Today Companion to British history
- Oxford Companion to Australian History
- Dictionary of American Biography
- Encyclopedia of American Cultural & Intellectual History
Your librarians |
School of HistoryContact Info:
Scott Wylie (Hobart)
Morris Miller Library
6226 2225
Scott.Wylie@utas.edu.au
Susan Bell (Launceston & Burnie)
Launceston Campus Library
6324 3139
Susan.Bell@utas.edu.au
Send Email
Scott Wylie (Hobart)
Morris Miller Library
6226 2225
Scott.Wylie@utas.edu.au
Susan Bell (Launceston & Burnie)
Launceston Campus Library
6324 3139
Susan.Bell@utas.edu.au
Send Email
Help!
Need help working out what your lecturer wants you to write about? Learn how to analyse your assignment question - try our Library eTutor Topic Analysis tutorial
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait