Regional databases
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
UTAS Home

Admin Sign In 

History  Tags: history  

Last update: Jun 12th, 2009 URL: http://utas.libguides.com/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

UTAS Library

Opening hours

Ask a librarian

Our libraries

 

Latest Library News


Loading RSS Feed...
 
 

Welcome

Welcome to the History Subject Guide

The library has a huge range of information resources that will help you with your studies. Use this subject guide to find the most relevant resources. Your librarians liaise with your lecturers to ensure that you have high quality information available on campus, at home and at work

 

* NEW databases *

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers

Newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press".

 

The 19th Century British Library Newspapers

The collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.

Newspaper images can be magnified for easier reading or reduced for on screen navigation. You can save and print article images, create persistent links and email them to others.

 

 

Library catalogue


or get more search options
 

Your librarians

Profile ImageSchool of History
Contact Info:
Scott Wylie (Hobart)
Morris Miller Library
6226 2225
Scott.Wylie@utas.edu.au

Susan Bell (Launceston & Burnie)
Launceston Campus Library
6324 3139
Susan.Bell@utas.edu.au
Send Email

 

Your feedback

Did you find this subject guide useful?

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait