Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias
Why use them?
Dictionaries and encyclopaedias are great to use to start your research
You can:
Define your topic using subject dictionaries
Find background information in encyclopaedias
Identify other keywords and alternative terms for database searching
Recommended online sources
- CredoReference
Online dictionaries and encyclopaedias. Subject specific and multi-disciplinary - Dictionary of conflict resolution
- Encyclopaedia Britannica online
- Forensic science: an encyclopedia of history, methods and techniques
- International encyclopedia of the social and behavioral sciences online
- Online dictionary of the Social Sciences
- Oxford English dictionary online
- Penguin dictionary of psychology
- The Blackwell dictionary of sociology
- World of criminal justice
Recommended sources on your library shelves
Look for these in our libraries. Click on the link to find the location. Ask a librarian if you don't know how to find them
- Dictionary of policing
- Encyclopedia of criminology
- Encyclopedia of high-tech crime and crime-fighting
- Encyclopedia of juvenile justice
- Encyclopedia of law enforcement
- Encyclopedia of murder and violent crime
- Encyclopedia of white-collar and corporate crime
- Encyclopedia of women and crime
- Encyclopedia of world crime : criminal justice, criminology, and law enforcement
- Prentice Hall's dictionary of American criminal justice, criminology, and criminal law
- The Encyclopedia of police science
- World police encyclopedia
Your librarians |
Librarians Criminology / Police StudiesContact Info:
Susan Bell (Ltn & CCC) 6324 3139
Susan.Bell@utas.edu.au
Susan Robson (Hbt) 6226 2306
Susan.Robson@utas.edu.au
Anne Shepherd (Hbt) 6226 2306
Anne.Shepherd@utas.edu.au
Send Email
Susan Bell (Ltn & CCC) 6324 3139
Susan.Bell@utas.edu.au
Susan Robson (Hbt) 6226 2306
Susan.Robson@utas.edu.au
Anne Shepherd (Hbt) 6226 2306
Anne.Shepherd@utas.edu.au
Send Email
Help!
Need help working out what your lecturer wants you to write about? Learn how to analyse your assignment question - try our Library eTutor Topic Analysis tutorial
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait