What are databases?
Databases contain information about things like journal articles and conference proceedings
Use databases if you want to search for current research on a topic
Some databases contain full articles
For others you have to search for the journal title in our library catalogue
CrossSearch
e-journals
The library has many ejournals you can browse online. Click here to find some relevant titles
Search Google Scholar
(search results open in a new window)
Key databases
Start your search for journal articles by selecting one of these databases
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
400,000+ citations and abstracts from international journals in political science, international relations, law, public administration and policy. 1975+
Help sheet - APA-FT (Australian Public Affairs- Full-text)
320,000+ citations, abstracts and full text with coverage of Australian business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences - Informit - Social Sciences
Click on the title above and scroll down the list to select either all or individual Australian Social Sciences and Community Issues databases. - AUSCHRON (Chronology of Australian historic and current events)
Includes references. All topics, but an emphasis on current happenings in Australia - Sociological Abstracts
The major source for information about journal articles, books and book chapters, conference papers and reviews in theoretical and applied sociology, social science and policy science.1963+
Other recommended databases
- ANZ Reference Centre
Online Australian Newspapers - JSTOR
The JSTOR database is unique because it offers access to the full text of core scholarly journals from the first issues. JSTOR is not a current issues database. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available via JSTOR. - Project MUSE
Full-text academic journals in the humanities. - Proquest
A collection of databases indexing over 5,000 popular and academic journals, with some full text articles available. International with United States focus.
Help sheet - Scopus
Large database indexing over 13 000 titles - Source OECD
Online access to all OECD books, reports, annuals, working papers, loose-leaf binders, periodicals and databases: 20 thematic book collections, 24 periodicals, 3 reference titles, 24 OECD statistical databases and 10 IEA statistical databases. - Web of Science
Index of 7000 high impact journals in all subject areas Help sheet
Your Librarians |
School of GovernmentContact Info:
Susan Bell (Ltn & CCC) 6324 3139
Susan.Bell@utas.edu.au
Susan Robson (Hbt) 6226 2306
Susan.Robson@utas.edu.au
Anne Shepherd (Hbt) 6226 2306
Anne.Shepherd@utas.edu.au
Send Email
Susan Bell (Ltn & CCC) 6324 3139
Susan.Bell@utas.edu.au
Susan Robson (Hbt) 6226 2306
Susan.Robson@utas.edu.au
Anne Shepherd (Hbt) 6226 2306
Anne.Shepherd@utas.edu.au
Send Email
Help!
Need help with searching in journal databases? Try our Library eTutor searching databases tutorial
OR
Watch a short video about finding print or online journal articles using the library catalogue
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait