Where do I start?
You need to gain an understanding of your topic
Dictionaries and encyclopaedias are great to use to start your research
You can:
Define your topic using subject dictionaries
Find background information in encyclopaedias
Identify other keywords and alternative terms for database searching
Help!
Need help working out what your lecturer wants you to write about? Learn how to analyse your assignment question - try our Library eTutor Topic Analysis tutorial
Recommended online dictionaries & encyclopaedias
- A Dictionary of Diplomacy
- CredoReference
Online dictionaries and encyclopaedias. Subject specific and multi-disciplinary - Dictionary of Politics and Government
- Encyclopaedia Britannica online
- Encyclopedia of nationalism: Fundamental themes
- Encyclopedia of the European Union
- International encyclopedia of environmental politics
- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences online
- Macquarie dictionary of Australian politics
- Online dictionary of the Social Sciences
- Oxford English Dictionary online
- The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science
- Public opinion, polling, and democracy around the world: A historical encyclopedia
Recommended sources on your library shelves
Look for these dictionaries and encyclopaedias in our libraries. Click on the link to find the location. Ask a librarian if you don't know how to find them
- A glossary of political theory
- Biographical encyclopedia of 20th-century world leaders (5 vols)
- Dictionary and introduction to global environmental governance
- Encyclopedia of international relations and global politics
- Encyclopedia of Nationalism (2 vols)
- Encyclopedia of the European Union
- The Collins Australian dictionary of political terms
- The Oxford companion to politics of the world
- The Routledge dictionary of twentieth-century political thinkers
- Worldmark encyclopedia of the nations (5 vols)
Your Librarians |
School of GovernmentContact Info:
Susan Bell (Ltn & CCC) 6324 3139
Susan.Bell@utas.edu.au
Susan Robson (Hbt) 6226 2306
Susan.Robson@utas.edu.au
Anne Shepherd (Hbt) 6226 2306
Anne.Shepherd@utas.edu.au
Send Email
Susan Bell (Ltn & CCC) 6324 3139
Susan.Bell@utas.edu.au
Susan Robson (Hbt) 6226 2306
Susan.Robson@utas.edu.au
Anne Shepherd (Hbt) 6226 2306
Anne.Shepherd@utas.edu.au
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait