Dictionaries & encyclopaedias
Why use them?
Dictionaries and encyclopaedias are great to use to start your research
You can:
Define your topic using subject dictionaries
Find background information in encyclopaedias
Identify other keywords and alternative terms for database searching
Recommended online sources
- Credoreference: philosophy
Links to dictionaries and encyclopedias on philosophy - Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy
- Internet encyclopedia of philosophy
- The Cambridge dictionary of philosophy
- Britannica Online
Recommended sources on your library shelves
Look for these in our libraries. Click on the link to find the location. Ask a librarian if you don't know how to find them
- Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy (10v)
- Routledge encyclopedia on CD-ROM
- Encyclopedia of philosophy
- The encyclopedia of philosophy
- The Continuum encyclopedia of British philosophy (4v)
- Encylopedia of aesthetics
- Encyclopedia of applied ethics
- A dictionary of philosophy
- Encyclopedia of bioethics
- Encyclopedia of Asian philosophy
- Dictionary of philosophy and religion
- Encyclopedia of classical philosophy
- Philosophy of science: an encyclopedia
Your Librarians |
School of PhilosophyContact Info:
Ruairi Murphy (Hbt) 6226 2306
Ruairi.Murphy@utas.edu.au
Susan Bell (Ltn & CCC) 6324 3139
Susan.Bell@utas.edu.au
Send Email
Ruairi Murphy (Hbt) 6226 2306
Ruairi.Murphy@utas.edu.au
Susan Bell (Ltn & CCC) 6324 3139
Susan.Bell@utas.edu.au
Send Email
Help!
Need help working out what your lecturer wants you to write about? Learn how to analyse your assignment question - try our Library eTutor
Topic analysis tutorial
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait