Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias
Why use them?
A good way to start your research is to use dictionaries and encyclopaedias like the ones listed on this page. Define your
topic by using subject dictionaries. Find background information
in encyclopaedias and handbooks. Its important to get a broad understanding of your topic before you start narrowing your research. Dictionaries and encylopaedias can help you identify other keywords and alternative terms that you can use in your database searching.
Recommended online sources
- Online English language dictionaries and thesauri
Listing of English language dictionaries and thesauri available online - Credo Reference Technology Collection
Search across all reference works for Technology in the Credo database - Academic Press dictionary of science and technology
Provides up-to-date definitions to a large range of science disciplines - Condensed encyclopedia of polymer engineering terms
Comprehensive review of the nature, manufacture, structure, properties, processing, and applications of commercially available polymers - Dictionary of communications technology
Provides definitions as well as specifications, diagrams, tables, characteristics to the discipline of communications technology - Dictionary of engineering terms
Covers the areas of engineering science, electrical and electronic engineering, workshop practices and mechanical engineering - Guide to the oceans
An authoritative and illustrated guide to the many facets of the world's oceans and seas - ISA handbook of measurement equations and tables Hundreds of essential equations and tables to assist in the selection, operation and maintenance of measurement devices
- Materials handbook a concise desktop reference
Discusses the important mechanical, thermal, and optical quantities used to describe and characterise solid materials - McGraw Hill concise encyclopedia of science and technology
Covers more than 90 disciplines of science and technology - McGraw-Hill dictionary of scientific and technical terms
Definitions to commonly used terms in science and technology - New Penguin dictionary of science
Provides definitions to a wide range of disciplines in science - Newnes dictionary of electronics
Provides clear and concise definitions and illustrations in the field of electronics - Penguin dictionary of mathematics
Provides definitions to terms in pure and applied mathematics. Also provides biographical entries to famous mathematicians - Penguin dictionary of physics
Provides concise definitions of terms and concepts, drawn from every area of physics - Standard handbook of engineering calculations
Provides engineering calculation procedures solving routine and some non-routine problems in all disciplines of engineering, including environmental, water and waste water engineering
Recommended sources on your library shelves
Look for these in our libraries. Click on the link to find the location. Ask a librarian if you don't know how to find them
- ASM handbook
Also known as Metals handbook
Also some volumes held at AMC Library 620.16/3 ;
(vols 1-4, 18,19) - Concise encyclopedia of polymer science and engineering
- Polymer handbook
- Base metals handbook
- Composite materials handbook
- Encyclopedia of chemical technology
- Machine design data handbook
- Corrosion atlas
- Dictionary of computer science, engineering and technology
- Dictionary of shipping terms
- Encyclopedia of ocean sciences
- Encyclopedia of tribology
- Engineering handbook
- Facts on File dictionary of nautical terms
- Glossary of words & phrases used in the oil and gas industries
- Handbook of tables for applied engineering science
- Handbook of chemistry and physics
- Handbook of thermodynamic tables and charts
- Illustrated encyclopedic dictionary of electronic circuits
- Illustrated dictionary of nautical terms
- Instrumentation reference book
- International maritime dictionary
- Jane's dictionary of naval terms
- Master handbook of electronic tables and formulas
- Mobile drilling units of the world
- Naval terms dictionary
- Newnes radio engineer's pocket book
- Oxford companion to ships and the sea
Your librarian |
Ian BollardHelp!
Need help working out what your lecturer wants you to write about? Learn how to analyse your assignment question - try our Library eTutor Topic Analysis tutorial
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait