Search Google Scholar
(search results open in a new window)
CrossSearch
Key databases
Start your search for journal articles by selecting one of these databases
- I.I.M.P. FULL TEXT The International Index to Music Periodicals is a music journal resource with more than 720,000 indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to the present, covering the scholarly to the popular.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Produced by the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale - articles from more than 5200 journals, as well as books, conference proceedings, dissertations etc.
- JSTOR
JStor provides easy full text access to over 60 music journals.The caveat is that most journals have a 3- 5-year "encumbrance," meaning that the most recent 3- 5 years are not available in JSTOR. (For the most recent issues, go to other sources such as IIMP or the print periodicals at the library.) - Project Muse
Full text of all journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Covers 1995 to the present. Music titles include Computer Music Journal, Early Music, Latin American Music Review, Leonardo Music Journal, Music & Letters, Notes, Opera Quarterly, Philosophy of Music Education Review, and Women and Music
Other recommended databases
- Arts and Humanties Citation Index
From the Web of Science. Small Arts and Humanities coverage but useful for citation searching. - ANZ Reference Centre
The Australia/NZ Reference Centre combines Australia and New Zealand specific magazines, newspapers & newswires, reference books and more... - British Humanities Index
Indexes humanities and arts journals, includes music journals - Newspaper indexes
Links to Newspaper index guide - Canandian Music Periodical Index
An index of over 37,000 articles from Canadian music periodicals from the late 19th century up to the present. 630 music journals, newsletters and magazines are included, almost 200 of which are currently active and continue to be indexed - ProQuest
Good starting point to find references and full-text journal articles in popular and academic journal articles.
Help sheet
Australian
- Australian Music Centre
Australian composers and other creative artists - biographies, lists of works and some articles - Music Australia

Music Australia is an online service developed by the National Library of Australia and the National Film and Sound Archive and other cultural institutions across the nation. - Informit Arts Search across a collection of Informit databases related to Arts. High Australian content. Includes Australian Public Affairs - Full Text.
- Trove from the National Library of Australia
Brings together resources from Libraries Australia, Music Australia and other collecting institutions, Includes sheet music, sound recordings, interviews, images and newspaper articles - Australian Music Presented (AMP)
A growing online collection of Australian classical and experimental music drawn from the ABC's vast archive of music recordings.
Help!
Need help with searching in journal databases? Try our Library eTutor searching databases tutorial
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait