Recommended online reference sources
- Oxford Music Online
Includes: Grove Music Online, Oxford Companion to Music and Oxford Dictionary of Music. A comprehensive and authoritative resource, a great starting point for all research - Credo Reference
Includes the full text from the Faber Companion to 20th Century Popular Music, the Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music, the Harvard Dictionary of Music and the Penguin Dictionary of Music. - The Harvard dictionary of music / edited by Don Michael Randel
Clear precise definitions and longer essays cover musical periods and concepts - The new Penguin dictionary of music/ Paul Griffiths
Succinct and comprehensive guide to the history, forms, and personalities of classical music
Recommended reference sources on your library shelves
Look for these in our libraries. Click on the link to find the location. Ask a librarian if you don't know how to find them
- New Grove book of operas
- The New Grove dictionary of jazz
- The New Grove dictionary of music and musicians / edited by Stanley Sadie.
- The Penguin companion to classical music / Paul Griffiths
- Baker's biographical dictionary of musicians
Includes classical , jazz and popular musicians - The Garland encyclopedia of world music / Bruno Nettl and Ruth M. Stone
Scholarly indepth coverage of music from around world. Includes discographies and bibliographies - The encyclopedia of popular music / Colin Larkin
- Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart : allgemeine Enzyklopädie der Musik / begründet von Friedrich Blume
An authoritative and well regarded resource, proficiency in German required!
Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias
Use dictionaries and encyclopedias to start your research:
Define your topic using subject dictionaries
Find background information in encyclopaedias
Identify other keywords and alternative terms for database searching
Bibliographies
Bibliographies are a great starting point for research as they point to publications on your topic. Subject bibliographies can be found in books and journal articles. Use the library catalogue to find book length bibliographies. Try a general keyword search using your topic term and the word bibliography eg. " Piano bibliography"
Well regarded bibliographies on music research are:
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait