Subject Guides: Law: Case Law

Law Library Help Guides

Unreported Judgments - Australia

LexisNexis AU : Unreported Judgments
Westlaw AU : Unreported Judgments
BarNet JADE
Free access to decisions of Australian and International Courts and Tribunals and Australian legislation.

Australasian Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new window
Find Australasian legal material. Primary legal materials e.g. legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals; and secondary legal materials created by public bodies for purposes of public access e.g. law reform and royal commission reports.
A joint facility of University of Technology Sydney and University of New South Wales Faculties of Law.

Case law databases

Australasian Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new window
Find Australasian legal material. Primary legal materials e.g. legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals; and secondary legal materials created by public bodies for purposes of public access e.g. law reform and royal commission reports.
A joint facility of University of Technology Sydney and University of New South Wales Faculties of Law.
BestCase Library [Westlaw Canada] This link opens in a new window
CCH IntelliConnect This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to selected CCH titles subscribed to by UTAS Library, including case law and loose-leaf services. It covers commentary, legislation and rulings in areas of accounting, employment WHS, financial planning, legal and tax.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
English Reports and US Reports
ICLR This link opens in a new window
Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England & Wales.
Lexis Advance This link opens in a new window
Please go to Lexis Advance Pacific after 20 November 2017.
Oxford Reports on International Law This link opens in a new window
Full text decisions of international courts and international law decisions in domestic courts from 1904.
Thomson Reuters Westlaw This link opens in a new window
U.S. and foreign primary and secondary legal materials fulltext.
Includes Australian and International Newspapers and news transcripts via the Reuters News Room.
Westlaw AU This link opens in a new window
Australian case law, commentaries and journals.

To log in to database: select 'Access with single sign-on' and enter your UTAS email address.
Westlaw UK This link opens in a new window
WorldTradeLaw.net This link opens in a new window
A summary and analysis of all WTO reports and arbitrations; a current keyword index; a database of dispute settlement tables and statistics; and a user-friendly search tool for WTO cases, legal texts, and other documents.

Digests and Citators

You can find authoritative cases on a subject by searching case annotators and digests in print and online. You can also search full text case law databases using subject keywords or catchwords.

ALMD (Australian Legal Monthly Digest)
Summaries of significant reported decisions arranged alphabetically. Cumulative Tables published every six months. Tables include indexes, tables of cases and words and phrases.
Australian Current Law Reporter
Up-to-date case law consolidated by subject area and jurisdiction. ACL Reporter provides comprehensive digests of all available judgments from the High Court, the Federal Court and the State Supreme courts, as well as important decisions from the Family Court, Federal Magistrate's Court, AAT and selected tribunals.
BriefCase/ViewCase [New Zealand]
Index of more than 140,000 cases sourced from a variety of New Zealand Courts and Tribunals. Provides topic classifications and summaries of cases. Links to Unreported Judgments provided. Access is via Westlaw AU.
CaseBase
Case citator and annotator for over 35,000 cases. Covers over 60 law reports from Australia and the UK. Links to the full text of unreported judgments from the High Court and the Supreme Courts of all Australian states and territories.
Current Law Case Citator [UK]
FirstPoint
FirstPoint provides access to case references, citation, history, and digest information for Australian cases since 1825.
KeyCite
Coverage: Case law, statutes, regulations, administrative materials, patents and secondary sources. Coverage varies by Country (Australia, Canada, Hong Kong and United States).
LawCite
LawCite is an automatically generated international legal case and journal article citator. LawCite is an AustLII database.
The Digest : Annotated British, Commonwealth and Euorpean Cases