Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
UTAS Home

Admin Sign In 

Visual Arts  Tags: visual_arts decorative_arts craft  

This introduces you to a reliable approach for finding information and identifies key library resources in the fields of visual arts
Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://utas.libguides.com/visarts  Print Guide  RSS Updates

How do I start my research?             Print Page
  
 

Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias

Why use them?

Dictionaries and encyclopaedias are great to use to start your research

You can:

Define your topic using subject dictionaries

Find background information in encyclopaedias

Identify other keywords and alternative terms for database searching

 

Recommended online sources

  • Oxford Art Online  
      
    The Oxford Online resource includes:
    The Dictionary of Art, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Grove Art Online, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
  • Credo Reference  
      
    An online collection of over 270 online dictionaries, encyclopaedias, thesauri and other reference texts.
  • Dictionary of Australian Artists Online  
      
    DAAO is an open access and dynamic scholarly reference work which provides biographical data, contextual information, commentary and images on Australian artists.

Recommended sources on your library shelves

 

Look for these in our libraries. Click on the link to find the location. Ask a librarian if you don't know how to find them

 
 

Help!

 

Need help working out what your lecturer wants you to write about? Learn how to analyse your assignment question - try our Library eTutor Topic Analysis tutorial

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait