What are databases?
Databases contain information about things like journal articles and conference proceedings
Use databases if you want to search for current research on a topic
Some databases contain full articles
For others you have to search for the journal title in our library catalogue
UTAS Databases
Library catalogue
Key databases
Start your search for journal articles by selecting one of these databases
- Medline(PubMed)
Medicine, nursing, the health care system, preclinical sciences Help - MDConsult

Online medical service to help efficiently find answers to clinical questions and make better treatment decisions - Health and Medical Complete via ProQuest
A searchable collection of over 200 key medical journals Help
Evidence-based medicine databases
- Dynamed

An evidence-based medicine database offering point of care information - UpToDate
ON CAMPUS ACCESS ONLY Help - Medical Evidence Matters
From ProQuest, this EBM database answers clinical questions - Clinical Evidence
- TRIP
Turning Research into Practice. A high quality evidence based medicine database
Other recommended databases
- Cochrane Library
Cochrane library does not open using Firefox. Please use an alternate browser such as Internet Explorer Help - CINAHL
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature Help - Web of Science
Index of 7000 high impact journals in all subject areas. Articles indexed since 1991 have links to articles cited by and citing that article Help - Embase
Comprehensive, timely access to pharmacological, biomedical literature. More than 18 million records - Scopus
Large database indexing over 13 000 titles.
Australian Health Databases
- APAIS -Health (Informit)
Covers health and medicine in Australia and in particular the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health. No clinical articles. 1978+ - Health and Society
Covers health policy and services and social, psychological, legal and ethical issues. 1980+ - Meditext
This Australian database covers all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields - AMI
Australasian Medical Index. Includes material indexed by Medline
Help!
Journal title abbreviations
- Medline journal abbreviations
Listing of journals indexed by Medline.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait