Human Geography booksPhysical Geography books
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
UTAS Home

Admin Sign In 

Geography and Environmental Studies  Tags: geography environmental_studies modelling environmental_studies marine_science sis environmental_planning conservation land_use human_geography population  

Important information resources that will assist your work in geography and environmental studies. The best place to start your research with links to books, journals, databases and more!
Last update: Oct 06th, 2009 URL: http://utas.libguides.com/geography  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Journals and Databases             Print Page
  
 

CrossSearch

Search multiple subject areas and databases at once

CrossSearch

Search Google Scholar


(search results open in a new window)
 

Key databases

Start your search for journal articles by selecting one of these databases.  They index a range of scholarly publications and may be searched by combining key words from your topic.

  • Geobase  
      
    GeoBase contains bibliographic information and abstracts for human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography and development studies. Covers refereed scientific papers, directories, books, conference proceedings and reports. 1970 +
  • Scopus  
      
    A large, multi-discipline citation database indexing peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, book series, patents and web-sites.

Other recommended databases

  • Annual Reviews  
      
    A multi-discipline source of review articles.
  • ASFA - Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts  
      
    Covers the science, technology and management of marine, freshwater and estuarine environments and organisms. Also includes marine biology, ecology, fisheries, aquaculture, oceanography and limnology. 1978+
  • Biological Sciences  
      
    References to articles and other literature on topics related to biology including biodiversity, conservation and land use, 1982+
  • CAB Abstracts  
      
    Includes references to the literature on tourism, recreation and leisure, and environmental issues. Also covers agriculture, forestry, rural development and management of natural resources.
  • GeoRef  
      
    A key geology database, indexing journals, conference proceedings, books and reports on topics including geomorphology, hydrology and digital terrain mapping.
  • Informit  
      
    A suite of databases containing references to Australian publications in a variety of subject areas e.g. Endanger - threatened flora and fauna; Streamline - for sustainable management of land, vegetation and water; Environmental Abstracts
  • Oceanic Abstracts  
      
    Indexes literature that relates to marine and brackish water environments from 1981 onwards. Abstracts concentrate on marine biology, physical, chemical and biological oceanography, ecology, fisheries, aquaculture, meteorology and geology.
  • PsycInfo  
    Primarily an index to psychology literature but includes references related to human geography on topics such as place attachment, support and loyalty in tourism and environmental attitudes.
  • Web of Science  
      
    Indexes more than 10,000 high impact journals in all subject areas. Articles indexed since 1991 have links to articles cited by and citing that article.
 

Geography Journals

Check the Library Catalogue for print journals located in our UTAS libraries, or browse our collection of geography and environmental science eJournals.

      
     

    Help!

     

    Need help with searching in journal databases? Try our Library eTutor searching databases tutorial

    and to better understand our catalogue entries for journals, try the online tutorial on Finding a journal article (print and online)

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait