Institutes and Societies
- Australian university departments of georgraphy
- Institute of Australian Geographers
- Royal Geographical Society
- The National Geographic Society
- New Zealand Geographical Society
- Russian Geographical Society
- American Geographical Society
- Royal Scottish Geographical Society
- Royal Canadian Geographical Society
- Belgian National Geographic Institute
- Brazilian Institute of Geography and Statistics
Websites
- Australian Bureau of Statistics
Statistical data including: Census of population and housing; Demography; Historical statistics; Economic statistics; Social statistics. - The LIST (Land Information System of Tasmania)
Provides spatial data (maps) including topographical data, natural resource data, roads and community facilities, cadastre (property boundaries) etc. for Tasmania. - Population index
Population Index covers information about population size and growth, migration, and demography. - Australian Government - entry and organisations
Access to federal and state government departments and services including Environment, Parks and Wildlife, Natural Resources, etc. - CSIRO
Information including CSIRO research areas. - Department of the Environment and Heritage - Environment Australia
Australian environmental information and links. - EOSDIS: Earth Observing System Data and Information System
An interesting and useful NASA Web site. - GEOSOURCE
Web resources for human geography, physical geography, planning, geoscience and environmental science. - United States Environmental Protection Agency
Extensive US environmental information and links. - US Global Change Data and Information System (GCDIS)
World global change information and links. - World Resources Institute
Information, ideas and solutions to global environmental problems. - WWW.VirtuaL Library -Geography
Extensive sets of links. - 2008 World Factbook / CIA
An online encyclopedia that gives brief information on the government, climate, economics, and other aspects of individual countries.
Recommend a website
Do you know a great website that you find useful for your studies?
Click on comments to make a suggestion!
Open Access sources and Web Indexes
- UTAS ePrints A great starting point for accessing publications by UTAS researchers.
- Australian Research Online Includes all contents of UTAS ePrints and other Australian university and government research repositories, as well as the Australian Digital Theses repository. Provides access to over 310, 000 records of research outputs, including theses; preprints; postprints; journal articles; book chapters; music recordings and pictures.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. - OAIster
Provides access to institutional archives. You may be able to find full text of theses or difficult to source papers. It contains nearly 20 million records from over 1000 sources. - CiteSeerX
Scientific literature digital library and search engine, containing full-text of over 1.1 million articles, with citations for over 22 million additional records.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait