Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
UTAS Home

Admin Sign In 

Sociology  Tags: sociology social_theory social_roles society statistics gender ethnicity australian_society power demography immigration population environment health social  

This guide will give you access to the best sources of information for Sociology
Last update: Sep 20th, 2009 URL: http://utas.libguides.com/sociology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Statistics             Print Page
  
 

Recommend a resource

 

Do you know a great resource for statistics that you find useful for your studies?

 

Click on comments to make a suggestion!

 

 

Online statistics

  • Australian Bureau of Statistics  
      
    The major source of Australian statistics. Covers demography, education, environment, industry, labour, crime, health, and more
  • Australian Immigration Statistics  
      
    Immigration, multicultural and population data, including overseas arrivals and departures, and citizenship, from the Department of Immigration & Citizenship
  • Australian Institute of Criminology  
      
    Includes corrections, deaths in custody, drug use, drug-related crimes and deaths, homicide, juvenile crime and justice and policing, plus links to other crime statistics sources
  • FedStats  
      
    A gateway to statistics from over 100 US Federal agencies
  • Global Statistics  
      
    World population statistics arranged by regions, countries, provinces and cities. Some statistics on economic factors
  • International Data Base (IDB)  
      
    Contains statistical tables of demographic and socio-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world
  • LABORSTA  
      
    Labour statistics database operated by the International Labour Organization Bureau of Statistics. Consists mainly of annual time series used in the publication of the Yearbook of Labour Statistics. Covers 200 countries and territories back to 1969
  • Nation Master  
      
    Over 600 statistical data sets, allowing comparisons between the countries of the world. Can be used to generate graphs and maps. Also includes profiles of individual countries
  • OECD Statistics  
      
    Statistical tables covering development, economics, education, employment, energy, health, social issues, trade, and more, for OECD member countries
  • United Nations Refugee Agency  
      
    Data, graphs and charts covering topics such as asylum applications, refugee status determination, recognition rates, refugee populations and movements, demographic characteristics and major refugee locat
  • United Nations Social Indicators  
      
    World tables for population, human settlements, water supply and sanitation, housing, health, child-bearing, education, literacy, income and economic activity, unemployment, child-bearing and contraception
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States  
      
    Collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. 1995-2001 currently available. Link to the US Bureau of Census site
  • UNESCO Institute for Statistics  
      
    Statistics on education and literacy for all countries . Also selected statistics for science and technology, culture, and communication
  • UNICEF Statistical Data  
      
    Includes data on child survival and health, child nutrition, maternal health, water and sanitation, education and child rights
  • United Nations Statistics Division  
      
    Provides a selection of social and demographic statistics for all countries, as well as details of their printed and online statistical resources
  • Web Servers at Statistical Agencies  
      
    Provides links to official statistical Web sites by country
  • WHO Statistical Information System  
      
    Guide to health and health-related epidemiological and statistical information from the World Health Organization and elsewhere, including life expectancy, cause of death, diseases, maternal mortality, immunization and health personnel
 

Your librarians

Profile ImageSchool of Sociology
Contact Info:
Anne Shepherd (Hbt - Wed pm, Thurs, Fri) 6226 2306

Susan Robson (Hbt - Mon, Tues, Wed am) 6226 2306

Glynis Jones (Ltn and CCC)
6324 3359
Glynis.Jones@utas.edu.au
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait