Help!
Need help with searching in journal databases? Try our Library eTutor searching databases tutorial
HOT database search tips
YouTube video (Apologies for the gratuitous violence: PG)
Click the link below:
Australasian health databases
- Meditext (Informit)
Best Australian health database. Covers all aspects of health and medicine, including allied health, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and allied health fields. Full-text 1995+ Index 196 - Help with searching Informit databases

- AUSPORTMed (Informit)
Medical and health issues in Australian sport. 1989+ - APAIS -Health (Informit)
Covers health and medicine in Australia and in particular the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health. No clinical articles. 1978+ - RURAL (Informit)
No full text. Covers rural and remote area health issues and care, and the practice and educational needs of health providers, in particular medical practitioners and nurses and is produced by the Monash University School of Rural Health. 1966+ - Drug (Informit)
Covers the social, economic, political, psychological and legal aspects of prevention and treatment of alcohol, tobacco and other drug use and misuse with a strong emphasis on evidence-based practice. - Australian Health Policy Institute
The Australian Health Policy Institute was established by the College of Health Sciences at the University of Sydney in 1999. Non-partisan analysis of major health policy questions which confront Australian and international health systems.
Key databases
Finding journal articles - search UTAS Library databases!
You may see full-text of an article (often as a PDF). If not, try clicking the link button that you will often see next to an article; it says: check for full-text at UTAS
- CINAHL
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature
Indexes journals, book chapters, conference papers and theses in nursing, health care, midwifery and related disciplines. Contains many full-text articles - UTAS Help with CINHAL searching
- Medline via PubMed
Medicine, nursing, allied health, health services, life sciences - world wide.PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles to 1948 - PubMed Search Help
This link is from PubMed itself. See also PubMed Tutorials. - UTAS Help with Pub Med searching
- ProQuest Health and Medical Complete
- MD Consult
*****EBooks, journals, drug information,patient education,images*****
Evidence based medicine databases
- Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Systematic reviews and other information that will assist in making diagnostic, treatment and other decisions. - Dynamed
Evidence based medicine reviews. About 3,000 topics: Diagnosis,prognosis,treatment,history,prevention, patient information. Updated daily. - UpToDate
***On Campus access only. UpToDate provides access to original, evidence-based, peer reviewed medical information with a practical focus*** - Clinical Evidence
BMJ journal containing up to date reviews. A decision-support resource. International peer reviewed journal publishing systematic reviews of important clinical conditions - Joanna Briggs Institute
Resources in evidence-based nursing and health care. Library access only to freely available resources (non-subscribed resources).
School of Nursing and Midwifery can provide access to all restricted resources. Students should contact your lecturer. - TRIP (Turning research into practice)
Evidence-based medicine resource categorised into synopses; clinical questions; systematic reviews; guidelines; patient handouts and eBooks. - e-Medicine
****Evidence-based open access resource written by specialist physicians and others with articles on 7,000 diseases/disorders. Regularly updated. 4 levels of peer review( articles not necessarily re-reviewed when updated)
Important databases in specialist areas
- Sociological Abstracts
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. 1952+ - PsycInfo
International literature in psychology and related disciplines. Literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. 1806+
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait