How to search the catalogue
Start here if you are new to the library and want help to find a book or a journal
Need help with essay writing?
If you have an essay assignment and want help understanding the topic try this tutor
Getting started
You need to gain an understanding of the key concepts of your topic.
You can use dictionaries, encyclopedias, or core text books.
Reading these will give you background information and ideas for search terms to use when finding information.
This page gives you some suggestions of materials to use for gathering general information.
Use the tabs along the top of this Guide to help you find information from books, journals and websites.
Recommended online sources
- Churchill Livingstone's Dictionary of nursing
- Mosby's dictionary of medicine, nursing & health professions
- Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary
- Merck manual online (diagnosis and therapy)
- Dictionary of medical acronyms & abbreviations
- Australian Medicines Handbook Online
School of Nursing and Midwifery recommended source for Australian drug information - Pharmaceutical medicine dictionary
- Drug information via MDConsult
Detailed drug information - but note - US source not Australian
Recommended sources on your library shelves
Look for these in our libraries. Click on the link to find the location. Ask a librarian if you don't know how to find them
- Historical encyclopedia of nursing Available Ltn and Clin
- Encyclopedia & dictionary of medicine, nursing & allied health Available St Vincents, Ltn, Clin
- Miller-Keane Encyclopedia & dictionary of medicine, nursing & allied health Available St Vincents, Ltn & Clin
- Mosby's pediatric nursing reference Available at Clin and Ltn
- Mayes' midwifery: a textbook for midwives Available Clin & Ltn
- Gray's anatomy : the anatomical basis of medicine and surgery Available Clin, Science & Ltn
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait