Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias
Why use them?
A good way to start your research is to use dictionaries and encyclopaedias like the ones listed on this page. Define your
topic by using subject dictionaries. Find background information
in encyclopaedias and handbooks. Its important to get a broad understanding of your topic before you start narrowing your research. Dictionaries and encylopaedias can help you identify other keywords and alternative terms that you can use in your database searching.
Recommended online sources
- Electronic English language dictionaries and thesauri
Listing of general English language dictionaries available online - Credo Reference Business collection
Search across a selection of business related reference sources - Business Who's Who of Australia
Information about Australian companies, who owns whom, directors, employee numbers, revenue, trade names and contacts
find Username/password - Business : the ultimate resource
Provides clear definitions to a significant number of international business and management terms, abbreviations, and acronyms - Capstone encyclopedia of business
Provides an overview of business terms, concepts, thinkers and practitioners, organisations, brands and companies - Collins dictionary of business
Comprehensive guide covering all the main areas of business theory and practice. Includes marketing, production, finance, personnel, business policy and international business terms - Collins dictionary of economics
Provides the principles behind the science of economics and their application in such areas as competition policy, agricultural policy, fiscal policy and monetary policy - Dictionary of accounting
Describes terms relating to accounting covering company tax liability, cash flow systems, auditing and financial reports to personal finance, pensions and investments - Dictionary of business
Provides definitions and pronunciations of business terms - Dictionary of economics
Supplies detailed and jargon-free definitions to economic terms and includes graphs and illustrations - Dictionary of human resources and personnel management
Covers all aspects of human resources, including recruitment and selection, appraisals, payment systems, dismissals and industrial relations - New Penguin business dictionary
Covers all areas of business, including accounting, banking, economics, finance and marketing, and includes business terms from United States and Great Britain - Penguin dictionary of economics
Covers all areas of economics, including accounting, banking, applied economics, finance and marketing, leading economists and economic thought - Penguin international dictionary of finance
Provides up-to-date explanations in finance including banking, commodity markets, insurance, money markets and securities markets
Recommended sources on your library shelves
Look for these in our libraries. Click on the link to find the location. Ask a librarian if you don't know how to find them
- Atlas of the world economy
- CCH Macquarie dictionary of business
- CCH Macquarie dictionary of employment and industrial relations
- CCH Macquarie dictionary of law
- Dictionary of transport and logistics
- Encyclopedia of management (Van Nostrand)
- Encyclopedia of management (Blackwell)
- Fairplay book of international organisations
- Macmillan dictionary of marketing and advertising
- Maritime law handbook
- Transportation-logistics dictionary
Your librarian |
Ian BollardHelp!
Need help working out what your lecturer wants you to write about? Learn how to analyse your assignment question - try our Library eTutor Topic Analysis tutorial
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait