CrossSearch
CrossSearch enables you to simultaneously search multiple databases, across different fields of study, for example, 'Education' and 'Psychology'.
Give it a try, or ask at the Library for help.
Search Google Scholar
Did you know you can set up your preferences on GoogleScholar to search UTAS Library resources?
Just go into Scholar Preferences, and scroll down to Library Links. Type in University of Tasmania Library and save your changes. Now when you research using Google Scholar you will be able to link to UTAS journal resources by hitting on the link 'check for full text at UTAS' on the result.
Give it a try, or contact the Library for help.
(search results open in a new window)
Finding Journal Articles
When researching a topic, you will be expected to use scholarly journal articles, where subject specialists publish the findings of their research. Using the internet to find journal articles seems like an easy solution, but there are many pitfalls.
The Library provides free access to published electronic journal articles through databases.
There are different types of databases - some are good for general information, while others are very much subject specific. Sometimes you will need to search more than one database to find the information you need.
Key databases
These databases house the key journal resources in the Education field.
Start your search for journal articles by selecting one of these databases.
If you require help using a database, ask for help at the Library.
- A+Education
Key Australian education database. Full text material. Complete index of 200 mainly Australian journals; partial index of about 700 journals. For broader education topics and international coverage, use one or more of the other recommended databases. - Proquest ERIC PlusText
ERIC is compiled by the United States Educational Resources Information Center. ERIC PlusText incorporates full-text journals from ProQuest Education Journals. To search, click the Clear All Databases link, then scroll down and click on ERIC. - APA FT (Full text)
Australian Public Affairs (APA) is a multidisciplinary database for the social sciences and humanities that provides abstracts and full text access to articles in Australian scholarly journals, book chapters, conference papers. - AustGuide
Contains Guidelines and Education Guidelines and covers education, science and natural history, geography, business and economics, history and current affairs, literature, information technology and computing. - Informaworld
Includes significant education journals published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge.
Other recommended databases
These databases offer further Education related resources.
- Australian Education Index: Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander
Covers education and training relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders, including learning, psychology, social and cultural influences, language, literacy, teaching strategies, schools, teacher training, and professional development. - PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association. - FAMILY
Australian Family & Society Abstracts (FAMILY) indexes and abstracts published and unpublished material related to research, policy and practice issues on relevant to families in Australia. - AUSTLIT
Australian Literary Database (AUSTLIT) is a bibliographical database that indexes material by or about the literacy works of Australian authors. - ALISA
Australian Library and Information Science Abstracts (ALISA) indexes material on children's literature and school librarianship. - AUSPORT
Australian Sport Database (AUSPORT) indexes pamphlets, conference papers and journal articles on all aspects of Australian sport. - SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Indexes sport and sport medicine journals from 1985- - MAIS
The Australian Multicultural and Immigration Studies (MAIS) database indexes all aspects of immigration and multicultural issues in Australia. - Australasian Education Directory
AED is a concise accurate guide to educational institutions and related organisations in Australia and New Zealand, listing over 970 organisations and is produced by the Australian Council of Education Research (ACER). - Australian Bureau of Statistics
Official Australian Bureau of Statistics data on all aspects of Australian life and society. It includes preschool, primary, secondary, tertiary, vocational and adult education statistical data. - ProQuest Education Journals
Includes US, some UK and European education journals. To select these from the ProQuest database list, first click the Clear All Databases link, then tick Proquest Education Journals in the list. - Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts includes coverage of the sociological aspects of education. - SAGE
The Science and Geography Education (SAGE) database provides abstracting and some full text access to popular Australian and selected overseas journals coverng a broad range of science subjects appropriate for schools, public libraries and lower tertiary - Scopus
Large database indexing over 13 000 titles. - Web of Knowledge
Includes Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, CAB Abstracts, INSPEC. Citation database of core academic journals in all subjects.
Help!
Need help fast with searching in journal databases?
Try our Library eTutor: Searching databases tutorial
Alternatively, why not contact the Library for some training? See our contact details at: http://utas.libguides.com/education
Featured journals
Favourite Education journals
To add your favourite, send us a comment!
- Assessment and Evaluation in Higher Education
- Oxford Review of Education
E-journal with full text articles available from 1975 onwards. - Reading & Writing Quarterly
Overcoming learning difficulties.
E-journal with full text available from 1997 onwards. - The Reading Teacher

Issued by the International Council for the Improvement of Reading Instruction.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait