Dictionaries & encyclopaedias
Why would I use them?
- Dictionaries and encyclopaedias are a great place to start your research
You can...
- Define your topic using a subject dictionary
- Find background information in an encyclopaedia
- Identify other keywords and alternative terms to use to search a database
Starting Research
When you begin to research a topic, a good place to start is using Reference tools like:
- a Dictionary - to find the definition of terms;
- an Encyclopedia - to get general background information about a topic; and
- a Thesaurus - to find synonyms and other similar keywords.
Recommended online reference sources
- Credoreference
Links to a wide variety of online dictionaries and encyclopedias - Oxford English dictionary (OED online)
- Encyclopedia of distance learning
- Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children
An essential reference on research in early childhood education. It provides a comprehensive overview of important contemporary issues and the information necessary to make judgments about these issues. - Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts
It assesses the significance of research, evaluates new developments, and examines current conflicts, controversies, and issues, while linking the work in one area to related work in others. - International Handbook of Giftedness and Talent
Provides an invaluable research tool to academics, researchers and students interested in the field of giftedness and talent. - Britannica Online
General information with some interactive research tools.
Recommended reference books on your library shelf
Look for these in our libraries. Click on the link to find the location of the book in the Library
Ask a librarian if you don't know how to find them!
Help!
Need assistance using the library catalogue to search for books or journal articles?
Try using the Library's new Online Information Skills Tutorials.
Need help analysing your assignment question?
Try our Library eTutor Topic analysis tutorial
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait