The Library Collection
The University Library's collection contains a wide range of films by indigenous filmmakers, and films with indigenous content.
This page features some of the collection.
To see what else is available, check the Library Catalogue.
Suggestion?
Would you like to suggest an Indigenous film to be added to the Library's collection?
Fill in the Suggest a Purchase form to send your suggestion to a Librarian.
Login required - click here
Watch a clip now!
Jedda (1955)
|
An Aboriginal woman dies in childbirth on a remote cattle station in the Northern Territory. The baby girl is raised by the station owner’s wife, Sarah McMann, after the death of her own child. Jedda (Margaret Dingle) grows up between cultures – forbidden from learning about her own, not fully accepted by the other. (read more) |
Featured Director
Tracey Moffat (1960-)
Tracey Moffatt is one of Australia’s most successful visual artists and is credited as being the first Aboriginal woman to make a feature film.
Moffatt prefers to be addressed as an 'artist’ rather than an 'Aboriginal artist’.
Her other audiovisual work includes Night Cries: A Rural Tragedy (1989), BeDevil1993), Heaven (1997) and Lip (1999). Moffatt’s photographic works include Something More (1989), Scarred for Life (1994), GUAPA (Good Looking)1995), Up in the Sky (1997), Under the Sign of Scorpio (2005), Portraits (2007) and Doomed (2007), a collaboration with Gary Hillberg.
A retrospective of Tracey Moffatt’s work opened at the Museum of Contemporary Art in 2003.
References
Moreton 2003, Nice Coloured Girls, Australian Screen, viewed 14 August 2009,
Films held in the UTas Library:
|
|
Nice Coloured Girls (1987) - Check availability here This short film is about three Indigenous women and their night out at Kings Cross. (Read more...) |
|
|
|
Night cries : a rural tragedy (1989) - check availability here A short experimental film shot totally in a studio, it is about the relationship between an Aboriginal daughter and her white mother. (Read more...) |
|
|
|
beDevil (1993) - Check availability here BeDevil, a trilogy of ghost stories, uses myth interwoven with living memory to evoke a sense of place. (Read more...) |
AIATSIS Archive
Check out the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies Audiovisual Archive.
The AIATSIS Audiovisual Archive holds the world's premier collection of moving image, recorded sound and photographic materials relating to Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures and histories.
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait