What are databases?
Databases contain information about things like journal articles and conference proceedings
Use databases if you want to search for current research on a topic
Some databases contain full articles
For others you have to search for the journal title in our library catalogue
CrossSearch
e-journals
The library has many ejournals you can browse online. Click here to find some relevant titles.
TIP: Select 'Title equals' from the first drop down menu and search by keywords eg indigenous, aboriginal
Search Google Scholar
(search results open in a new window)
Key databases
Start your search for journal articles by selecting one of these databases
- Indigenous resources on Informit

Search across all Indigenous databases in RMIT Publishing's Informit service for Australasian scholarly research. - Anthropological index online
- AUSCHRON (Chronology of Australian historic and current events)
Includes references. All topics, but an emphasis on current happenings in Australia. - Australian Family and Society Plus

- Sociological Abstracts
The major source for international information about journal articles, books and book chapters, conference papers and reviews in theoretical and applied sociology, social science and policy science.1963+
Other recommended databases
- ANZ Reference Centre
Online Australian Newspapers - JSTOR

- ProQuest

- Scopus
Large database indexing over 13 000 titles. - Web of Science
Index of 7000 high impact journals in all subject areas. Articles indexed since 1991 have links to articles cited by and citing that article.
Help sheet
Your librarians |
RiawunnaContact Info:
Anne Shepherd (Hbt) 6226 2306
Anne.Shepherd@utas.edu.au
Susan Robson (Hbt) 6226 2306
Susan.Robson@utas.edu.au
Glynis Jones (Ltn and CCC) 6324 3359
Glynis.Jones@utas.edu.au
Send Email
Anne Shepherd (Hbt) 6226 2306
Anne.Shepherd@utas.edu.au
Susan Robson (Hbt) 6226 2306
Susan.Robson@utas.edu.au
Glynis Jones (Ltn and CCC) 6324 3359
Glynis.Jones@utas.edu.au
Send Email
Help!
Need help with searching in journal databases? Try our Library eTutor searching databases tutorial
Or watch a short video on finding journal articles online
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait