Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias
Why use them?
A good way to start your research is to use dictionaries and encyclopaedias like the ones listed on this page.
Define your topic by using subject dictionaries.
Find background information in encyclopaedias.
Its important to get a broad understanding of your topic before you start narrowing your research. Dictionaries and encylopaedias can help you identify other keywords and alternative terms that you can use in your database searching.
Books on studying and writing
Recommended online sources
- Credoreference
Links to online dictionaries and encyclopaedias - Encyclopaedia Britannica online
- International encyclopedia of the social and behavioral sciences online
- Online dictionary of the Social Sciences
- Oxford English dictionary online
Recommended sources on your library shelves
Look for these in our libraries. Click on the link to find the location. Ask a librarian if you don't know how to find them
- Australian encyclopaedia
- Australian people: an encyclopedia of the nation, its people and their origins
- Dictionary of race and ethnic relations
- Encyclopaedia of Aboriginal Australia
- Macquarie Aboriginal words : a dictionary of words from Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages
- Macquarie encyclopedia of Australian events
- Oxford companion to Aboriginal art and culture
Your librarians |
RiawunnaAnne Shepherd (Hbt) 6226 2306
Anne.Shepherd@utas.edu.au
Susan Robson (Hbt) 6226 2306
Susan.Robson@utas.edu.au
Glynis Jones (Ltn and CCC) 6324 3359
Glynis.Jones@utas.edu.au
Send Email
Help!
Need help working out what your lecturer wants you to write about? Learn how to analyse your assignment question - try our Library eTutor Topic Analysis tutorial
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait