Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias
Why use them?
A good way to start your research is to use dictionaries and encyclopaedias like the ones listed on this page. Define your
topic by using subject dictionaries. Find background information
in encyclopaedias and handbooks. Its important to get a broad understanding of your topic before you start narrowing your research. Dictionaries and encylopaedias can help you identify other keywords and alternative terms that you can use in your database searching.
Recommended online sources
Recommended sources on your library shelves
Look for these in our libraries. Click on the link to find the location. Ask a librarian if you don't know how to find them
- Barrington atlas of the Greek and Roman world (includes CD-ROM)
- Atlas of the Classical world
- Oxford classical dictionary
- Dictionary of Greek and Roman biography and mythology
- Who's who in Greek and Roman mythology (Hbt)
- Who's who in classical mythology
- Encyclopedic dictionary of Roman Law
- Dictionary of Roman religion
- Dictionary of classical mythology : symbols, attributes & associations (Hbt)
- Dictionary of classical mythology : symbols, attributes & associations (Ltn)
- The Penguin dictionary of classical mythology
- Dictionary of Greek and Roman antiquities
- Dictionary of Greek and Roman geography
- Who was who in the Greek world, 776 BC-30 BC
- Who's who in the ancient world.
- The Oxford dictionary of Byzantium (v1-3)
- Greek and Latin authors 800BC - AD 1000
- Cassell's new Latin-English, English-Latin dictionary (Hbt)
- Cassell's new Latin-English, English-Latin dictionary (Ltn)
- A dictionary of Latin words and phrases
- The names in Roman verse (Ltn)
- Oxford Latin dictionary (Ltn)
- Oxford Latin dictionary (Hbt)
- Classical and medieval literature criticisms Vol. 1 - Vol. 103 (Hbt)
Your Librarian |
Scott WylieHelp!
Need help working out what your lecturer wants you to write about? Learn how to analyse your assignment question - try our Library eTutor Topic Analysis tutorial
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait