Indexes
- ANZ reference centre
Fulltext Australian and N.Z. newspapers, magazines; company information and regional news. Varying coverage, usually about 2000+.
Includes The Age, The Australian, The Mercury, Sydney Morning Herald, Advertiser, Courier Mail and BRW - Indexes to Tasmanian Newspapers and Journals The State Library of Tasmania provides the Tasmanian Index which includes a digitised card catalogue from 1966 - 1994 and an online search from 1994 onwards.
- APA-FT Selective indexing of Australian newspapers and magazines
- AUSCHRON (Chronology of Australian Historic and Current Events) Selective indexing of some Australian newspapers
- Media Scan indexes a number of major Australian newspapers, including Age, Australian and Sydney Morning Herald. Not all articles are indexed, but there is good coverage of Australian and international news, "contentious" issues, science, technology and education
- News Store Provides a searchable index of Fairfax newspapers including the Age, Sun Herald, and the Sydney Morning Herald.
- Newstext Covers over 150 News Corporation newspapers, including the Australian, the Mercury, Adelaide Advertiser, and Brisbane Courier Mail. This is a user-pays site, but some free sample searching is available
- Regional Business News Full text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States
Indexes to specific newspapers
The Library holds some indexes to specific newspapers. Indexes provide a way of identifying stories on particular topics, events, or people
- Index to the Times State Library of Tasmania users can access The Times Digital Archive from their News and newspapers page
- The New York Times index
- Sydney Morning Herald
- Infoquick A selective index to articles about Australia published in the Sydney Morning Herald from 1988 to 2005.
- afr.com - The Australian Financial Review Use the "search articles" box. Try the advanced search for more specific searching
Historical indexes
- 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers The digitised newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest collection of early English news media. Full text searching
- 19th Century British Library Newspapers The 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain.
Other useful sites - State Library of Tasmania
The State Library of Tasmania has an excellent News and Newspapers page.
State Library users can access Newsbank, Times Digital Archive and other useful resources. The Tasmanian Index to Tasmanian newspapers and journals is also highly recommended.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait