Learning support
There are a number of programs and resources provided by UTAS for students who wish to develop their skills for learning at university and beyond.
Dictionaries & encyclopaedias
Dictionaries and encyclopaedias are a great way to start your research.
You can:
- Define your topic using subject dictionaries
- Find background information in encyclopaedias
- Identify other keywords and alternative terms for database searching
Recommended online sources
- Oxford English Dictionary Online

- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
- CREDO Reference
Search multiple dictionaries and specialist encyclopedias simultaneously - Dictionary of Media Studies
Recommended sources on your library shelves
Look for these in our libraries. Click on the link to find the location. Ask a librarian if you don't know how to find them
- Media writer's handbook : a guide to common writing and editing problems
- The newspaper designer's handbook
- Dictionary of media and communication studies
- The Economist style guide
- Margaret Gee's Australian media guide
Directory of Australian newspapers, magazines, newsletters, internet, radio and television
Subject Guide |
Contact Info:
Ruairi Murphy (Hobart)
Morris Miller Library
6226 2306
Ruairi.Murphy@utas.edu.au
Send Email
Ruairi Murphy (Hobart)
Morris Miller Library
6226 2306
Ruairi.Murphy@utas.edu.au
Send Email
Training and help
Need help finding books or journals in the library catalogue? - try our Library Online Information Skills Tutorials!
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait