Skip to main content

Visual Arts: Finding Images

This introduces you to a reliable approach for finding information and identifies key library resources in the fields of visual arts

Important
This Guide is no longer being maintained or updated, and will be unavailable after 30/07/2018.

The new Library Subject Guides can be found here: http://utas.libguides.com/home


Please contact the Student Learning Librarians at LearnTeach.Librarians@utas.edu.au if you have any concerns about this change.

Finding Images...

Finding good quality images is an important part of visual arts research. Use the following links to help you locate high quality images and always make sure you have enough information to cite images correctly. Information on citing visual material can be found under the referencing tab of this guide.

Image Databases

Websites

Image sources on the web

The following websites are suggested for research and study purposes only. Images on these websites are in many cases copyright protected prohibiting unlicensed users from reproducing images or parts of images in any form for commercial use. Some websites require user registration and login before images can be accessed.

 

P+P

Australian Prints and Printmaking is the National Gallery of Australia's portal for printed works from Australia, Aboriginal Australia, the Torres Strait Islands, Papua New Guinea, Maori and Pakeha Aotearoa New Zealand, New Caledonia and the Pacific region. Free online access to 16,000 images. Search the database by artist, subject or print techniques such as etching, woodcut, wood-engraving, linocut, lithograph, screen-print, monotype and other print processes. Index to online information on printmakers, print workshops, print publishers, print galleries and public and private collections.

Trove

Trove image search enables searching of many significant online pictorial collections at the same time and provides access to images that cover all aspects of Australiana. Artworks include paintings, drawings, prints and posters of abstract art, fine art and portraits, photographs, objects including sculpture, scrimshaw, bark, costume, and weapons.

TMAG

Collections Online contains images held in the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery. Database can be searched by keyword or browsed through an alphabetical category listing.

Getty Search Gateway is a portal for searching across a range of Getty collections including the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, the Getty Foundation, and the Getty Research Institute. Search by keyword or browse by resource type.

google art project

Google Art Project is like street view for galleries! Take a virtual tour through some of the world's most influential and important galleries or search by keyword for artists and art works. Well worth a look.

google image

Google Image Search indexes more than 880 million images. Includes basic search features, advanced search features including Boolean searching, preferences and image search help. Advanced search results can be limited by size, file types, colouration and domain.