The Library databases are searchable online indexes that provide access to scholarly journals, full-text articles, magazines, conference papers, and other publications.
Some databases cover a single subject area, others cover many different subject areas.
Library databases are usually the best tools for finding journal articles in your subject area.
Database searching works best when:
Things to consider:
MegaSearch is the all-in-one search tool that searches across UTAS Library collections for books, DVDs, journal articles, conference papers, theses, and other items.
For more targeted results, use the Refine results panel on the left of the MegaSearch results screen
MegaSearch is main search box on the Library homepage.
Subject databases cover the scholarly literature in one just subject or related group of subjects.
Use them when you need to target your search to a specific subject.
To find databases by subject
To find a database by name
Multi-disciplinary databases cover a range of different academic subjects.
Some databases claim to cover all major subject areas, while others might cover a related group of subjects (i.e. science, or the humanities).
These are useful for general or cross-disciplinary research topics, and for exploring a topic at the beginning of your research process.
Pros: breadth of coverage, can be good place to start when you're not sure what database to choose
Cons: lack of depth, limited range of search modification options
The Library catalogue does not index journal articles, but it is the best (and fastest) way to find
You will find the Library catalogue next to MegaSearch on the Library homepage.
Browse by subject
Select a subject from the menu and click Go